Congressional primary races to be held Tuesday


Dispatch Staff Report



Registered voters in Lowndes and Oktibbeha counties may vote in the state's Congressional primary election beginning at 7 a.m. Tuesday.  


There are two contested primary races and one uncontested race, depending on where a voter lives in the two counties. 


In all precincts of both counties, voters will be able to vote in Republican and Democratic primaries for U.S. Senate. Republican primary voters can choose between incumbent Roger Wicker or Richard Boyanton. The Democratic primary includes six candidates -- Dave Baria, Jensen Bohren, Jerone Garland, Victor Maurice, Omeria Scott and Howard Sherman. 


In Oktibbeha County, there are two primaries for the Third District U.S. House of Representatives seat, which is being vacated by Gregg Harper. There are six candidates on the Republican primary ballot -- Sally Doty, Morgan Dunn, Michael Guest, Whit Hughes, Perry Parker and Katherine Tate. Michael Aycox and Michael Evans will compete in the Democratic primary.  


In Lowndes County and parts of Oktibbeha County, incumbent Republican Trent Kelly is listed on the ballot but has no primary opponent. Randy Wadkins has no opponent in the Democratic primary and will meet Kelly in the November 6 general election.  


Run-offs in contested races, if necessary, will be held June 26.  


There are two changes in polling places in Lowndes County. Those who voted at Union Academy will now vote at 15th Street Church of God In Christ. Those who voted at the National Guard Armory will vote at Southside Missionary Baptist Church. 


Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.




printer friendly version | back to top








Top Things to Do in the Golden Triangle This Weekend



Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email