Article Comment 

Caledonia voters return to polls Tuesday


Dispatch Staff Report



Caledonia's lone voting precinct will be buzzing again Tuesday for the second time in the 2017 municipal election cycle. 


Town Hall will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. for voters to cast ballots for mayor and aldermen. 


The town's election commission threw out a June 6 election for the same positions and called for a new one, after multiple recounts of paper ballots yielded varying results and commission chair Ken Byars admitted to mishandling the ballot box. Since then, Byars and longtime member Mildred Wiggins -- citing a conflict from being the aunt of mayoral candidate Mitch Wiggins -- resigned from the election commission, leaving it with three members. 


Incumbent Mayor Bill Lawrence will try to stave off Mitch Wiggins' challenge on Tuesday.  


First elected in 2005, Lawrence is seeking his third overall, and second consecutive, term. Wiggins served as an alderman from 2013-17. 


The June 6 vote between the candidates was too close to call, with two of three counts showing Lawrence with leads of two and one votes, respectively, while another count showed the race tied. 


Aldermen candidates are Tammy McCool, Quinn Parham (incumbent), Matt Furnari, Bill Darnell (incumbent), Tyler Brock, Buzzy Vizgard, Matt Atkins, Nick Jackson and Tim Butler. 


The top five vote-getters among the nine will earn spots on the town's board of aldermen.




printer friendly version | back to top






Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email